Flexible and Hybrid Electronics

The IVAM Focus Group Flexible and Hybrid Electronics is an association of the two Focus Groups Wearable Electronics and Hybrid Organic Electronics and is mainly geared to electronically enhanced textiles (including wearables based on textiles, geotextiles, and construction textiles) as well as hybrid electronics, but it also includes other unconventional and conventional substrate materials. 

Organic electronics help realizing large-area, flexible and even stretchable smart applications. However, various functions, such as complex sensors or evaluating processor units are still realized by conventional silicon technology. Combining both creates hybrid systems, which are the main topics in the Focus Group “Flexible and Hybrid Electronics”. There is a special potential given with the integration of sensors in textiles because this enables e.g. the wireless connectivity at one’s body. Costs and sustainability are probably still the biggest challenges for the acceptance and future of smart textiles or wearables. 

The IVAM Focus Group will also deal with topics like data management, energy supply and functional reliability of systems. There is especially need for research in the fields of interfaces, robustness, miniaturization, and power supply of wearables. Further aims are, among others, internationalizing existing activities of the participants, collaborating with other Focus Groups or external networks, or contributing to standardization processes in this still very young technology.

The activities in this Focus Group outstandingly complement IVAM’s key topics and are specifically well tied in with the Focus Group Medical Technology.

 

Chairperson: 

Dr. Manuela Di’Biase/ Dr. Anne Umbach, ZOEK
Erik Jung, Business Development Unit, Fraunhofer IZM

 

IVAM members can log in to their member accounts to read and to download all documents of the Focus Group. Focus Group participants who are not members of IVAM can contact electronics@ivam.de to get information.

Downloads

Flexible and Hybrid Electronics

Die IVAM-Fachgruppe Flexible and Hybrid Electronics ist eine Zusammenführung der beiden Fachgruppen Wearable Electronics und Hybrid Organic Electronics und ist im Wesentlichen auf elektronisch aufgewertete Textilien (inkl. textilbasierte Wearables, Geotextilien und Bautextilien) sowie hybride Elektronik ausgerichtet, schließt aber auch andere unkonventionelle und konventionelle Substratmaterialien mit ein. 

Mit der organischen Elektronik sind großflächige, biegsame und sogar dehnbare Anwendungen realisierbar. Dabei hat sich aber auch bereits gezeigt, dass viele Funktionen, wie komplexe Sensoren oder Auswertelogik, weiterhin mit herkömmlicher Siliziumtechnik umgesetzt werden. So entstehen hybride Systeme, die in der Fachgruppe Flexible and Hybrid Electronics thematisiert werden. Besonderes Potenzial liegt in der Integration von Sensorik in Textilien, denn diese ermöglicht beispielsweise die drahtlose Konnektivität am Körper. Die größten Herausforderungen für die Akzeptanz und Zukunft der „smarten Textilien“ bzw. Wearables bleiben wohl die Kosten sowie die Nachhaltigkeit. 

Die IVAM-Fachgruppe widmet sich außerdem Themen wie Datenmanagement, Energieversorgung und Funktionssicherheit der Systeme. Hier liegt der Forschungsbedarf vor allem auf dem Gebiet der Schnittstellen, Robustheit, Miniaturisierung und Stromversorgung der Wearables. Weitere Ziele der Gruppe sind unter anderem die Internationalisierung der bestehenden Aktivitäten der Teilnehmer, die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Fachgruppen oder externen Netzwerken sowie beispielsweise die Mitwirkung an Standardisierungsverfahren für die noch recht junge Technologie. Die Aktivitäten ergänzen hervorragend die bisher über IVAM abgedeckten Themenschwerpunkte. Besondere Anknüpfungspunkte bestehen zu der Fachgruppe Medizintechnik.

 

Leitung der IVAM Fachgruppe: 

Dr. Manuela Di’Biase/ Dr. Anne Umbach, ZOEK
Erik Jung, Business Development Unit, Fraunhofer IZM

 

IVAM-Mitglieder können mittels ihrer Login-Daten alle Dokumente der Fachgruppe einsehen und herunterladen. Teilnehmer der Fachgruppe, die kein IVAM-Mitglied, sind, können Informationen unter electronics@ivam.de anfordern.

Downloads